Cub Scouts

Cub Scouting

Cub Scouts is a national program that attracts boys and girls who are in kindergarten thru fifth (5th) grade (after which they should cross-over into Boy Scouts). Cub Scouts is a program led by BSA-registered Adult Leaders. For more information about Cub Scouts see the website. Note: Cub Scout Dens have either all-boys or all-girls; there are no mixed-gender Dens. 

Cub Scouts participate in activities that lead towards achievement, recognition, and rank advancement based on their age-group/school-grade. Cub Scout units are organized into Packs; Packs are organized into Dens based on age-group/school-grade: 

  • Kindergarten: Lion Den 
  • 1st Grade: Tiger Den
  • 2nd Grade: Wolf Den 
  • 3rd Grade: Bear Den
  • 4th Grade: Webelos Den
  • 5th Grade: Arrow-of-Light Den (crossing-over to Boy Scouts in the spring) 

See Cub Scouting Adventures for more detailed information about opportunities at each rank level. 

Regardless of age group, before any other recognition takes place, a youth is required to earn the Bobcat badge. See The Advancement Trail for more information about the Bobcat (and the following) rank(s).   

Adult Leaders are men and women who are age 18 or older who have completed a BSA Adult Leader Application, have passed a strict background check, have passed a course in Youth Protection Training (YPT), and (depending on the Adult Leader's position) undergone additional training courses to learn how to perform the duties for which they are responsible. 

Cub Scout FUN Day

What: Cub Scout FUN Day is an opportunity to have FUN at Camp Wisdom, learn about the Trails of Five Trails District, and earn a patch! FUN includes BBs, archery, and other FUN activities! 
Who: Cub Scouts and their families! 
When: 9:00 am to 1:00 pm, Saturday, November 3
Where: Camp Wisdom, 6400 W. Red Bird Lane, Dallas, TX 75236
Co$t: $4.00 per Cub Scout/registered Adult Leader; no charge for other family members
How: Packs should register at the Five Trails District Cub Scout Roundtable on Monday, October 8, at PPUMC
Details: See the flier HERE